Close this search box.

If you want to gain a better understanding of the sport of boxing and get to know the greatest boxers of all-time, you’re at the right place. Read on, and we’ll explain the boxing world champions, from the governing bodies to the weight classes to the current reigning champions.

Boxing Governing Bodies

The reason there are so many boxing belts is because of the four different major governing bodies for boxing, all with their own belts.

The boxing governing bodies are:

  • The World Boxing Association (WBA)
  • The World Boxing Council (WBC)
  • The International Boxing Federation (IBF)
  • The World Boxing Organization (WBO)


While the WBA is the oldest governing body, the WBC is considered the most prestigious and has held some of the biggest fights in boxing history.

Boxing Weight Classes

There are 17 weight classes in boxing, all only separated by a few pounds. This ensure that boxers competing against each other are nearly identical in weight. The following is a list of all of the weight classes with the maximum weight allowed.

  • Heavyweight (200+ lb)
  • Cruiserweight (200 lb)
  • Light Heavyweight (175 lb)
  • Super Middleweight (168 lb)
  • Middleweight (160 lb)
  • Light Middleweight (154 lb)
  • Welterweight (147 lb)
  • Light Welterweight (140 lb)
  • Lightweight (135 lb)
  • Super Featherweight (130 lb)
  • Featherweight (126 lb)
  • Super Bantamweight (122 lb)
  • Bantamweight (118 lb)
  • Super Flyweight (115 lb)
  • Flyweight (112 lb)
  • Light Flyweight (108 lb)
  • Mini Flyweight (105 lb)

Current Boxing World Champions

With four boxing governing bodies and 17 different weight classes, there is the potential to have up to 68 different world champions at one time. However, oftentimes one boxer will hold belts among multiple governing bodies, or among different weight classes. We’ll just go over some of the biggest current world champions to ease your confusion, but there are plenty of comprehensive lists out there.

The heavyweight division has long been one of the most popular and competitive. Legends such as Shannon Briggs and Frank Bruno have held heavyweight titles, and you can go in-depth on their careers with us. Currently, Anthony Joshua is the unified world champion, holding the belt in the WBA, IBF, and WBO. However, in the WBC, American Deontay Wilder is the current world champion, and Dillian Whyte is the interim champion, waiting for the opportunity to take the belt.

One of the other most popular weight divisions is the welterweight division, where legends such as Oscar De La Hoya, Manny Pacquiao, and Floyd Mayweather Jr. have held the title. Pacquiao is considered the “Super Champion” in the WBA but Alexander Besputin is the regular champion. Errol Spence Jr. holds the belt in both the WBC and IBF, while Terrence Crawford holds the title in the WBO.

Become Your Own Champion

These boxing world champions may be the best in their sport, but you can be a champion in plenty of other aspects of life. London Real is your source for information about everything from boxing to cannabis, but we’re so much more.

If you’re looking to become a champion in your day to day life enroll in our Academy and start getting the training you need to be the best human you can possibly be.


Join our global community

Sign up to recieve full episodes of London Real every week.

We take your privacy seriously. We will never sell your information.